Seamoss+™ has four ingredients and a capsule. Each two-capsule serving contains 500 mg of Irish moss, 500 mg of bladderwrack, 400 mg of burdock root and 5 mg of BioPerine black pepper extract, in a pullulan capsule. Below, we go through those sea moss ingredients line by line: what each one is, why it is there, and what the label does not tell you.
Key takeaways
- Each two-capsule serving contains 500 mg of Irish moss, 500 mg of bladderwrack, 400 mg of burdock root and 5 mg of BioPerine black pepper extract, in a pullulan capsule.
- There is no proprietary blend: every ingredient is printed with its own amount.
- The label does not state an iodine amount, because the iodine in whole seaweed varies from harvest to harvest.
- The label direction is two capsules once a day, 20 to 30 minutes before a meal.
- Do not exceed recommended dose. Pregnant or nursing mothers, children under the age of 18, and individuals with a known medical condition should consult a physician before using this or any dietary supplement.
The sea moss ingredients, line by line
| Ingredient | Amount per 2 capsules | Plant part | Group |
|---|---|---|---|
| Irish moss (Chondrus crispus) | 500 mg | Whole plant | Sea botanical |
| Bladderwrack (Fucus vesiculosus) | 500 mg | Whole plant | Sea botanical |
| Burdock (Arctium lappa) | 400 mg | Root | Root |
| BioPerine black pepper extract (Piper nigrum) | 5 mg | Fruit | Absorption |
| Pullulan capsule | - | - | Other ingredient |
There is no proprietary blend: every ingredient is printed with its own amount. The panel lists no Daily Value for these botanicals, because none has been set for them.
Irish moss, 500 mg
Irish moss is a red seaweed that grows on rocky North Atlantic shores. It is the classic "sea moss" behind sea moss gel, thanks to its natural carrageenan, and it has been used for generations as a mineral-rich food in Ireland and along North Atlantic coasts. On the label it is listed as the whole plant, rather than an extract.
Bladderwrack, 500 mg
Bladderwrack is a brown seaweed, named for the small air bladders on its fronds. Brown seaweeds tend to carry more iodine than red ones, and bladderwrack also contains alginate and fucoidan, two seaweed polysaccharides. It is listed as the whole plant.
Burdock root, 400 mg
Burdock is a land plant from the daisy family, and its long root is eaten as a vegetable in Japan. The root contains inulin, a prebiotic fiber. Burdock rounds out the two seaweeds with a land-based ingredient. A 2011 review of burdock in Inflammopharmacology lists contact dermatitis and other allergic or inflammatory responses among its side effects. People who react to ragweed or other daisy-family plants should keep that family link in mind.
BioPerine black pepper extract, 5 mg
BioPerine is a branded black pepper extract; its key compound is piperine, which gives pepper its bite. Research on piperine has looked mainly at how it affects the absorption of other compounds, such as curcumin from turmeric. It has not been studied with sea moss specifically, so in Seamoss+ it is there to enhance nutrient absorption as a general role.* For more on how piperine works, see Why Add Black Pepper to Turmeric? BioPerine and Absorption Explained
The pullulan capsule
Pullulan is a plant-based capsule material made by fermentation. It is the only other ingredient, so there are no added fillers or flow agents on this label.
What Seamoss+ is made to support
The Seamoss+ label lists two benefits: it promotes digestive and gut health and enhances nutrient absorption.* The product page adds that it supports thyroid function and iodine balance, encourages natural detoxification and may support immune system health.* Those are structure-and-function statements about everyday wellness, not promises of a particular result. For the gut side, read Is Sea Moss Good for Gut Health? What the Research Says
What the label does not tell you
The label does not state an iodine amount, because the iodine in whole seaweed varies from harvest to harvest. Studies of edible seaweeds have found iodine content ranging more than 500-fold from one seaweed to another, with brown seaweeds such as kelp at the top. Both Irish moss and bladderwrack contain iodine, so count Seamoss+ as one of your iodine sources, alongside iodized salt, dairy, eggs, seafood and any multivitamin. A 2021 review in the European Thyroid Journal advises caution with brown seaweeds such as kelp, because even small amounts can have antithyroid effects and product labelling may be insufficient; bladderwrack is a brown seaweed. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements lists an upper limit (UL) of 1,100 mcg of iodine a day for adults 19 and older. The Seamoss+ label gives no iodine amount, so you cannot add up your total exactly; if you take other iodine sources, have a thyroid condition or take thyroid medication, talk with your healthcare provider. The same fact sheet notes that high doses of iodine taken with antithyroid medicines such as methimazole can have an additive effect and could cause hypothyroidism, and that people who take such medicines regularly should discuss their iodine intake with their health care provider. The fact sheet also notes that some people, such as those with autoimmune thyroid disease or iodine deficiency, may have adverse effects at iodine intakes considered safe for the general population. Our article on sea moss and iodine sets out daily needs and the upper limit.
Free-from list and dietary fit
- Gluten free, non-GMO and sugar free
- Vegan and vegetarian, with a plant-based pullulan capsule
- Lactose free, free of the top 9 allergens, and no corn
How to compare sea moss labels
If you are weighing Seamoss+ against another product, line up the same four questions for each label:
- Which seaweed is it? Look for the Latin name, such as Chondrus crispus, not just "sea moss."
- How much of each ingredient? Look for an amount in mg per serving.
- Whole plant or extract? An extract ratio such as 4:1 means the label weight stands for more raw plant, so compare like with like.
- Who tested it? Ask whether every batch is tested by an outside lab, and whether you can see how.
How to take Seamoss+
The label direction is two capsules once a day, 20 to 30 minutes before a meal. Or follow the direction of your healthcare professional. The 60-capsule bottle is a 30-day supply. Our sea moss timing guide helps you pick a slot you will keep.
Warnings, in the label's words
Do not exceed recommended dose. Pregnant or nursing mothers, children under the age of 18, and individuals with a known medical condition should consult a physician before using this or any dietary supplement. Keep out of reach of children. Do not use if safety seal is damaged or missing. Store in a cool, dry place.
Our product page adds a "Good to know" note: Irish moss and bladderwrack are both iodine-rich seaweeds. If you have a thyroid condition, or you take thyroid medication, talk with your healthcare provider before starting. The same applies if you are pregnant, nursing, or managing any other medical condition.
Quality and testing
Seaweeds take up what is in the water around them, which makes testing especially important. Seamoss+ gets independent testing on every batch for purity and potency, and it is manufactured in USA with globally sourced materials in an NSF-certified, GMP-certified, FDA-registered facility. See our standards, or learn to read a test report in How to Read a Supplement Certificate of Analysis (COA).
Frequently asked questions about sea moss ingredients
How much sea moss is in Seamoss+?
Each two-capsule serving contains 500 mg of Irish moss, the classic sea moss, plus 500 mg of bladderwrack, a second seaweed. Burdock root (400 mg) and BioPerine (5 mg) complete the formula.
Is Seamoss+ a proprietary blend?
No. Each of the four ingredients is listed with its own amount, so you can see exactly what is in a serving.
Why is black pepper extract in a sea moss supplement?
BioPerine is a black pepper extract included to enhance nutrient absorption.* Piperine has been studied mainly with other compounds such as curcumin, not with sea moss itself.
Is Seamoss+ vegan?
Yes. The ingredients are plants and seaweeds, and the capsule is pullulan, a plant-based material.
How much iodine is in Seamoss+?
The label does not list an iodine amount, because seaweed iodine varies by harvest, so count Seamoss+ as one of your iodine sources. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements lists an upper limit of 1,100 mcg of iodine a day for adults 19 and older. If you have a thyroid condition or take thyroid medication, talk with your provider before starting. Do not exceed recommended dose. Pregnant or nursing mothers, children under the age of 18, and individuals with a known medical condition should consult a physician before using this or any dietary supplement.
Related reading from our Wellness Hub
- Irish Moss vs. Bladderwrack vs. Burdock Root: What Is the Difference?
- Sea Moss Capsules vs. Gel: Which Form Fits Your Routine?
- Third-Party Tested, Every Batch: Here’s the Receipt
Sources
- Smyth, 2021: Iodine, Seaweed, and the Thyroid (European Thyroid Journal, PMC)
- Teas et al., 2004: Variability of iodine content in common commercially available edible seaweeds (Thyroid, PubMed)
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Iodine, Health Professional Fact Sheet, updated November 5, 2024
- Chan et al., 2011: A review of the pharmacological effects of Arctium lappa (burdock) (Inflammopharmacology, PubMed)
Individual results vary.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.



